Skip to content

2022 Merri-bek Awards announced

20 Oct 2022

Every year we call on the local community to help recognise and celebrate the people and organisations that have inspired and enriched Merri-bek through their outstanding service. 

Last week the awards, called the Merri-bek Awards for the very first time, were announced at the Coburg Town Hall, with over 200 community members friends and family. 

Merri-bek Mayor Cr Mark Riley said it was a delight to celebrate the winners and nominees with the community. 

“After two years of holding the awards ceremony online, it brough us all great joy to come together in person and celebrate the efforts and dedication of our community,” Cr Riley said. 

“I would like to thank  our Community Advisory Committees for their time and contribution and the Merri-bek community for shining a light on their peers. 

“A huge congratulations to all the nominees, high commendation recipients and our award winners. You make Merri-bek a better place, everyday!” 

The ceremony included a Welcome to Country from Wurundjeri Man Daniel Ross, a special performance from VICSEG Lullaby Choir, and inspiring speeches from our award recipients.  

2022 Merri-bek Award winners

  • Collaborative Partnerships Award 
    Winner – Judd Walsh 
  • Contribution to Arts & Culture Award 
    Winner – Sue Johnson
  • Contribution to Sports Award 
    Winner – the late Iris Dixon
  • Community Event of the Year Award 
    Winner – YMCA - Active Merri-bek, Men of Merri-bek
  • Honouring Women in Merri-bek Award 
    Winner - Nandita Chakraborty
  • Lisa Bellear Award for Contribution to Reconcillation Activities 
    Joint Winner – Liz Phillips and The Late Elder Margaret Gloria Gardiner
  • Youth Contribution Award 
    Winner – Renee Fostiropolous 
  • Environmental Sustainability Achievement Award 
    Winner - Neighbours United Climate Action Growers 
  • Access and Inclusion Award 
    Winner – Elizabeth Bennett 
  • Volunteer of the Year Award  
    Winner – I’m Still Learning 
  • Mayor’s Police Leadership Award  
    Winner - Sergeant Andrew McDonough 

To read more about our award recipients visit our Merri-bek Awards page.