Skip to content

Merri-bek Summer Show: Future Tense

The Merri-bek Summer Show is a much-loved annual exhibition celebrating local artistic talent.

Each year, local artists are invited to submit an artwork that explores a chosen theme. This year’s Merri-bek Summer Show theme is Future Tense.

Merri-bek Summer Show awards

The Counihan Gallery is also pleased to present the 6th Noel Counihan Commemorative Art Award. The Award celebrates an artist whose work explores the exhibition theme and engages with social, political, or environmental ideas. All exhibitors in the Merri-bek Summer Show are eligible for the Award.

The Award recipient will receive $3000 towards their professional development. Examples of how the prize may be used include: paid mentorships, courses, workshops, programs, and so on. This prize is generously sponsored by Merri-bek City Council.

Congratulations to Emily Simek, who is the recipient of this year's Noel Counihan Commemorative Art Award.

This year, we also have a Highly Commended Award, which is a themed book pack to the value of $250, generously sponsored by local bookshop Brunswick Bound. Download a copy of List of titles in the Merri-bek Summer Show Future Tense Book Pack (DOC 570Kb).

Congratulations to Stephanie Karavasilis and Carmen Reid, who each received a Highly Commended Award.

Voting is now open for the People's Choice Award. Vote for your favourite artist using our online People's Choice Award voting form. The artist with the most votes will receive a cash prize of $1000, generously sponsored by the Sydney Road Brunswick Association. 

Merri-bek Summer Show artists

This year is our biggest Summer Show yet, with 87 talented local artists exhibiting work across all three of our gallery spaces. Congratulations to the following artists:

Caroline Alcalde, Carmen Angerer, Sarah Anthony, Ingmar Apinis, David Creed and Angela Rossitto, Joy Barrett, Margaret Bishop, Heinz Boeck, Matt Bottos, Alexander Caetano, Mem Capp, Aimee Carruthers, Sofia Chapman, Thomas C. Chung, Evangeline Clark, Elizabeth Cleland, Miranda Cook, Michael Crowhurst, Chelle Destefano, Julian Di Martino, Sofie Dieu, Matthew Dunn, Laurence Flegg, Lesley & Patrick Francis, Flora Georgiou, Ruth Groves, Jess Hall, Jarmila Hava, Angela Hughes, Amaya Iturri, Tegan Iversen, Charlotte Ivey, Manasee Jog, Chandra Kamaldeen, Stephanie Karavasilis, Alister Karl, Nina Killham, Emily King, Pamela Kleemann-Passi, Luisa Laino, Melanie Lazarow, Josephine Lazidis, Teague Leigh, Christos Linou, Linda Loh, Carmel Louise, Larissa MacFarlane, Jarrad Martyn, Sheena Mathieson, David McCall, Janine McGinness, Aylsa McHugh, Tony Milne, Jamie Mumford, Gabrielle Leah New, Saffron Newey, Claire O'Driscoll, Oguzhan ‘Oz’ Ozcicek, Valentina Palonen, Marina Perkovich, Shalome Pinto, Lisa Pownall, Carmen Reid, Steven Rendall, Rosemary Robins, Glenyys Romanes, Thitibodee Rungteerawattananon, Tamara Russell, Ash Russell, Sofia Sabbagh, Claire Sadler-Jones, Hannah Savage, Emily Simek, Miranda Smith, Hayley Smith, Ange Stock, Linda Studená, Dan Su, Hira Tanao, Jean Taylor, The BOOreaucrats, Leon van de Graaff, Kyle Walker, Florence Wang, Ashton Wastney, Claire Anna Watson, Mark Wingrave.

Suitable for

This exhibition features video and sound content. Due to the varied sensory experience on display, this exhibition may be a difficult environment for visitors who experience sensory overload.


Counihan Gallery
Phone: 03 9389 8622

Further information

For exhibition updates you can follow the Counihan Gallery Instagram page. You can also go to the Counihan Gallery Facebook page.

This exhibition is in Gallery 1, 2 and the New Gallery.

Download the Merri-bek Summer Show pricelist (Doc 45 Kb).